Skip to main content


The Wales Maternity and Neonatal Network work plan is made up of five workstreams:

  • Family Centred Care
  • Continuity of Carer
  • Safe and Effective Care
  • Skilled Multi-professional Workforce / Sustainable Services
  • Timely Care

The key service priorities across these workstreams have been driven primarily by:

  • All Wales Neonatal Standards (3rd Edition)
  • RCM/RCOG Review of Maternity Services at Cwm Taf Health Board
  • Health Inspectorate Wales (HIW) National Review: Maternity Services Phase One National review of the quality and safety of maternity services
  • NHS England and NHS Improvement: Implementing the Recommendations of the Neonatal Critical Care Transformation Review